Sahrabis Got His Teeth Cleaned

A few weeks back I made the decision to take Sahrabis into the vet to get his teeth cleaned, for his 6th birthday. Although his teeth were not terrible, I thought it would be better to have them cleaned now, rather than them get any worse. His appointment was last Thursday, and I woke up early to get him to the vet at 7:30 in the morning, because he would be spending the day there. Usually I am alright taking him to the vet, because I get to take him right home with me. When I dropped him off, I got really nervous about leaving him, and couldn’t seem to let him go. I think I felt like this because he is getting older, and I am scared of something happening to him (not that anything would, our vet is amazing). I guess it was a good thing that I had made the appointment because when we got into the exam room, the vet noticed that he had chipped a tooth, and that it needed to be removed. At this point I was relieved that he noticed the chipped tooth, and was able to fix it at the same time as cleaning his teeth. Being that he is six years old, he is considered an older dog now, so they recommend doing blood work on older dogs, so the vet was going to do that too. The part that really made me nervous was that he was going to be put under general anesthesia. Teeth Cleaning for Older Dogs talks about some of the different risks and approaches that a vet may use for older dogs being put under anesthesia for this procedure.

Photo Credit: Personal Photo
Photo Credit: Personal Photo

The day seemed to pass by very slowly, because I was staring at the clock waiting for it to be 5:30pm so I could pick him up. Once I got to the vet to pick him up, and they came into the exam room with him, I was so relieved. All I could do was hug him and tell him that we were going to go home and lay on his favorite bed. The vet informed me that all of this teeth were in good shape, and that they didn’t have to pull the chipped one. They were able to take the chipped part off and file down the edges to save the tooth. That was also a relief. He also told me that for a six year old Rottweiler, he was perfectly healthy, and that all of his blood work came back normal. I felt so happy at that point that I had taken him in, because everything that the vet had to say was good news. His trip to the vet was well worth the $450.00 that it cost me, and he looked so handsome with his clean teeth!

When we got home he was very tired from the anesthesia, and just wanted to sleep. He probably slept for close to 16 hours, but the next afternoon he was back to his normal self, and bugging me for more food. Overall, even though I was more nervous that he was to go to the vet, I was so happy I went through with it. Sometimes taking your animals to the vet is stressful, especially when you don’t know what to expect, but the health of your pup is so important! In my previous post Do your dogs fear the veterinary clinic? I talked about ways to help your dog not be afraid of the vet, and it is important not to show that you are nervous taking them. I guess that is easier said than done, for me!

Is it just me that gets nervous taking your dogs in? If not I would love to know your stories, please leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

