Delilah Is 3!

Today, my sweet girl Delilah is three years old. It feels like just yesterday that I was picking her up from the breeder in Las Vegas, and bringing her to her new home. Fast forward to three years down the road and she is still just as much a pain in the butt as the day I brought her home. So, since it’s her birthday, what more could she want than to go to the dark park and eat a doggy birthday cake. Yes, I said cake!

Photo Credit: Personal Photo
Photo Credit: Personal Photo

I have never made a doggy birthday cake before, I always just go buy something at the dog bakery, so hopefully this works out. I found a carrot peanut butter cake with peanut butter frosting that looks really good (for a dog) on http://www.browneyedbaker.com/dog-birthday-cake/. It never fails that I mess something up when baking, so I bought enough ingredients for two cakes, just in case I mess it up the first time. If I don’t, then I’ll have enough to make Sahrabis a cake for his birthday next week!

Below is a list of the ingredients that the recipe called for:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 egg

Frosting Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup natural peanut butter
  • 3 teaspoons water

Before beginning to mix all of the ingredients, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees, and greased an 8 x 4 inch loaf pan. First, I mixed the flour and baking soda together in a bowl, and then added each of the remaining ingredients one at a time until everything was mixed together thoroughly. Next I poured the mixture into the pan, and put it in the oven. After putting the cake in the over I made the frosting. The frosting for the cake was just 1/3 cup of peanut butter mixed with some water to thin it out. After about 30 minutes I took the cake out of the oven and let it cool.

I have to say, this is probably one of the easiest things I have ever baked, and it made it even better that it was for my dogs! This is definitely something that I will make for each of their birthdays, especially because I know what is in it, and it is healthy for the most part.

Below is a picture of the completed cake I made for Delilah!

Photo Credit: Personal Photo
Photo Credit: Personal Photo

Does anyone else make treats for their dogs? If not, I encourage you to start! And let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

